‘Distinguished University Professor’ title to be conferred on five McMaster faculty members

default header

Five outstanding faculty members have been recognized as ‘complete scholars’ with the title of Distinguished University Professor.

Barry Allen (Philosophy), Michael Brook (Chemistry), Bruce Gaulin (Physics and Astronomy), Laurel Trainor (Psychology, Neuroscience and Behaviour) and John Kelton (Executive director of the Michael G. DeGroote Initiative for Innovation in Healthcare) have all been conferred the title.

Those named Distinguished University Professors must have demonstrated an outstanding and sustained research record that demonstrates international impact, excellence in teaching and a history of service to the community.

No more than two per cent of all full-time faculty can hold the title.

The five faculty members will be formally recognized at this year’s Spring Convocation ceremonies.

Related Stories